Home>Services>News & Events>Finland’s Chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 2017–2019
City news

Finland’s Chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 2017–2019

2/15/2017 8:00 AM

Finland will take over the two-year Chairmanship of the Arctic Council from the U.S. at the beginning of May 2017.

The member states of the Arctic Council are Finland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Russian Federation, the United States of America and Canada. The region's indigenous peoples such as the Sami also participate in the cooperation. The Council is a forum for promoting environmental protection, sustainable development and the inhabitants’ wellbeing in the Arctic areas.

The Arctic Council’s foreign ministerial meeting is organised every second year. The next ministerial meeting is likely to be organised in spring 2019.

The majority of the Council’s work is conducted in its six Working Groups.

Finland’s Chairmanship will be coordinated by an Arctic Team at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs. The programme for the Chairmanship has been prepared in cooperation between actors representing the entire state administration and different interest groups.

The Finnish Chairmanship will focus on the implementation of the Paris Agreement on climate change and the UN sustainable development goals (SDGs) as part of Arctic cooperation. Finland will consult all member states of the Arctic Council and associations of the indigenous peoples about the Chairmanship Programme.

In issues related to the economy, close collaboration with the Arctic Economic Council will be sought. The Arctic Council’s Chairmanship provides an opportunity for Finland to strengthen its Arctic image and raise awareness of Finland expertise in operating in cold conditions.

Arctic Team, Unit for Northern Europe, Department for Europe
E-mail: firstname.surname@formin.fi

Scandinavian characters are replaced by: ä=a, ö=o, å=a

Mr Aleksi Härkönen
• Ambassador for Arctic Affairs
• Chair of the Senior Arctic Officials 2017 – 2019
• Mob: +358 50 462 4471
Mr René Söderman
• Senior Adviser for Arctic Affairs
• Head of Delegation, Senior Arctic Official 2017– 2019
• Mob: +358 50 362 9536